MHP recognizes 2018 Legislative Leaders and Outstanding Advocates

To recognize exceptional dedication to the advancement of affordable housing — and MHP’s key legislative goals — at the State Capitol in 2018, we’re proud to announce the inaugural recipients of MHP’s Legislative Leader and Outstanding Advocate awards.

Lawmakers receiving the 2018 Legislative Leader award played a central role in building support for key MHP initiatives from the Homes for All MN bonding request to the MHP’s MN Tax Credit Contribution Fund. Their demonstrated support of affordable housing, and their deep resolve to make a difference for Minnesotans of all incomes, makes these lawmakers stand out at the Capitol.

MHP’s 2018 Outstanding Advocates made exceptional efforts to engage with lawmakers, sharing personal and professional experience to further MHP’s policy agenda and secure more resources for affordable housing. These Advocates went above and beyond in 2018 by submitting testimony, meeting with legislators, and building support for affordable housing initiatives among colleagues and community members.

The dedication of these advocates and leaders led to historic successes at the Capitol this session, including $90 million in bonds for housing and the formation of a broad support coalition for the MN Tax Credit Contribution Fund, which has positive prospects for next legislative session. We’re so grateful to these leaders and advocates for their incredible work!

MHP Executive Director Anne Mavity will make a formal presentation of awards on June 14 at the quarterly breakfast convening of MHP’s Investors Council, a cross-sector network of affordable housing sector leaders who participate in MHP’s work. We’re expecting more than 150 leaders at this event — “Filling the Financing Gaps to Make Affordable Housing Pencil Out.”



Senator Kari Dziedzic (DFL-60)

By voicing strong support for affordable housing legislation, and by providing key insight on strategy and coalition building, Senator Dziedzic went above and beyond this session to advance the policy agendas of MHP and Homes for All MN.

Representative Barb Haley (R-21A)

By chief authoring enabling legislation for Local Housing Trust Funds (LHTFs) and by sharing the innovative efforts of LHTF pioneers in her own district, Representative Haley played a central role in bringing this flexible, locally-controlled tool to Minnesota communities of all sizes.

Representative Alice Hausman (DFL-66A)

For years, Representative Hausman has been a stalwart champion of Homes for All MN, mobilizing colleagues and constituents to support affordable housing. As Chief Author of the Homes for All MN bonding proposal for several years in a row, Representative Hausman has played an integral role in securing historic investments in affordable housing, including $90 million in 2018 and $100 million in 2014.

Senator Mark Johnson (R-1)

As a co-author of legislation to create the MN Tax Credit Contribution Fund, Senator Johnson played a central role in advancing this needed tool for affordable housing development. Senator Johnson provided crucial insight on strategy, and worked diligently to build support around the proposal, lobbying colleagues through the final days of session.

Senator Carla Nelson (R-26)

As Chief Author of legislation to create the MN Tax Credit Contribution Fund, Senator Nelson displayed impressive leadership, working tirelessly to drive the proposal forward, secure hearings and promote the bill among colleagues. Her leadership built momentum and a broad, bipartisan coalition of support.

Senator Dave Senjem (R-25)

As Chief Author of the Homes for All MN bonding proposal, Senator Senjem played central role in securing a major, needed investment of $90 million in affordable housing and an additional $30 million to support people with mental health challenges. Senator Senjem has been a key advocate for MHP’s policy proposals, including the Local Housing Trust Fund bill and the MN Tax Credit Contribution Fund.




Commonwealth Development Corporation


Rochester Area Foundation


D.W. Jones Management


Southwest Minnesota Housing Partnership


Red Wing HRA




Dougherty Mortgage


CommonBond Communities


South Eastern Minnesota Multi-County HRA


ADVOCATE WITH MHP! Join these outstanding leaders at the State Capitol next session by contacting Deputy Policy Director Libby Murphy at